Did You Hear It?

That giant wailing echoing across the entire Bay Area?

That was me, mourning the loss of potatoes in my life.

Yes, it’s true, I can no longer eat potatoes in any form, except sweet potatoes. Stupid food allergy business…

At least I can have sweet potato fries with a burger but really, this is truly tragic. No mashed potatoes, smashed potatoes, stuffed potatoes, potato leek soup, cumin sour cream potato soup or potato rolls.  I am sobbing into my morning coffee.

Always trying to be positive I am focusing my sorrow into finding mashed potato alternatives. Has anyone tried making a soft puree of cauliflower before?

Fortunately there are other starches to use besides potatoes:

  • rices (white, brown, wild)
  • cousous
  • pasta
  • quinoa
  • farro
  • barley
  • beans
  • lentils

None of them really compare to the versatility of the grand humble potato though. What are your favorite comfort foods that don’t involve a potato?

I think I need to cheer myself up with some chocolate.

11 responses to “Did You Hear It?

  1. But eggs? Are you allergic to eggs? :( I bet mashed sweet potatoes would be good too if you spice them up!

  2. yum i love mashed cauliflower!! only, it gives me a stomachache. you should def try it though. its way better than potatoes. potatoes are just ok, i never eat them unless once in a while like fries. generally at our house we have quinoa or couscous. quinoa always tastes bleh but its healthy. i have rice at restaurants as a treat! lol.

  3. Sorry to hear about potatoes. Cauliflower puree is wonderful, I sometimes add a little zest of Meyer Lemon. Butternut Squash and other squashes can be wonderful substitutes.
    I was in Rome last week and was so excited to have gelato from my favorite place. Broke out in hives all over and was having trouble breathing. Guess it was a custard base gelato……. not good for egg allergy. I just became allergic 9 months ago. I am still adjusting. Best of luck.

    • Thank you Melanie, I have to try some squash next to see how it goes. So sorry about your gelato experience. I just found out my favorite ice cream place here in SF does not use eggs in their ice creams, yay!

  4. HOLY SHIT NO!! I can’t believe it, except my oldest was allergic too, it sucks!!
    So sorry my friend! We’ll avoid them on the next road trip of happiness :)

    • I can still have bacon, wine and chocolate. It’s my new diet. Look out Laura, I’m going to be one skinny b*** next time you see me!

  5. I had a friend years ago who would swell up if she even ‘looked’ at a potato, to her great sadness. There are actually many wonderful things you can make with sweet potatoes (including bread!) but don’t worry, we will find you some tasty noms! How about some roasted turnips?

    • Ah, turnips! I will have to try one and see if it bothers me. Turnips are on the same list for cross reactivity to birch pollen, but that may not mean anything to me. Thank you for the suggestion!

  6. Update: now I can’t eat sweet potatoes either. Swell.

Leave a Reply

