The Ups and Downs of it All

(Non-Food-Related-Chat)

The Downs

After a random string of events I am now laid up again with injuries. Apparently, spraining my ankle repeatedly over the last bunch of years has resulted in some nasty damage in there; no wonder the thing hurts.

Through friends I consulted a wonderful doctor who fitted me up with sexy footwear for an indeterminate period and an equally fetching cane.

20120401-233957.jpg

Sexay!

A week later I can barely use my left hand after clumping around with the cane and next thing I know the doc gives me a wrist brace and a crutch. Meanwhile I’m still supposed to be wearing the arm sling for my sprained shoulder. It’s ridiculous!

Apparently the cane use might he giving me carpal tunnel, which might need surgery, and I might have a genetic disorder that causes me to get injured easily. I look the doc in the eye and tell him, “I come in here with a sore ankle and you tell me it’s serious, now I’m in a boot, a brace, a crutch, facing possible wrist surgery and maybe a genetic disease. I don’t want to come back here anymore!” It’s ridiculous, isn’t it?

Ah, well, what can one do. I’m going to behave myself and just go and do what the doc tells me. I boot up, strap on and hitch myself along and do what shoulder physical therapy I can at home, ice my wrist and give my ankle contrast baths. Meanwhile, my left shoulder and knee are killing me from all the extra strain, so they get iced up too. Seriously ridiculous, I am running out of ice packs and frozen peas. I am busy at home with all of this and no time or energy to cook, or do anything else for that matter.

I still have the food allergies / intolerances to deal with but I am going to table them for a while. If I avoid certain beloved foods I’m okay and can deal with the nutritional aspects of these limitations in some fashion.

The Ups

But here’s the thing. This is not going to get me down. I have been through worse, much worse, and I have survived. I have kind employers, great friends and amazing family to help me and a doctor who is optimistic I can get back to being fit and active again.

Amidst all of this craziness, a lovely article about social currency, aka the influence one has via using social media, came out in our local glossy publication, 7×7 Magazine and it features me and two others.

20120402-000815.jpg

Sassy!

According to Kred, a new company that measures social influence and outreach, I have one of the highest scores in the food category in San Francisco.

I had a really fun interview and photo shoot with the kind people at 7×7 Magazine and the article is in their April money-themed issue. Although the the article is only in print it has been really exciting to hear from so many friends and acquaintances who saw my full page photo and article.

It’s funny how life seeks a level like water, dealing out difficult times and good news, emulating the ebb and flow of the tides. If things get low enough they always rise up to something better, as incredible adventures and experiences always subside to a boring normalcy.

With this modest public accolade I am determined to focus on the good things going on all around me and put these challenging physical issues behind me.

Happily, my sprained shoulder is doing so well I have ditched the sling, and can actually lift my arm above my head easily for the first time in 14 months. This is a huge moment for me and it gives me great hope that I can get healed.

So bring it on, Universe, I’m like the Black Knight!

“It’s just a flesh wound!”

I am still here and still fighting!

5 responses to “The Ups and Downs of it All

  1. Glass half full and never half empty!! Love the pose, darling! Gorgeous smile!!

  2. i need to find a 7×7 and read your article. or maybe you can scan it in… i never see those things lying around. yay congrats on it!! and yay for lifting your arm! sorry about all your bad luck with health.

  3. WOW! that is great, you are me hero!

    • Wow, merci, Madame. I am trying to keep positive through all of this.

      Happily I do not have carpal tunnel so the nerves in my arms are just irritated and will be fine.

      There is always an upside!

Leave a Reply

