Tonight I was a lazy woman….

And made Lazy Woman’s Sushi!

INVISIBLE_TEXT

New Message

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Lazy Woman’s sushi is just what is sounds, sushi without requiring the skill to make makki rolls. I have been craving sushi but unfortunately due to being funemployed sushi is just not in my budget. But thanks to Costco having a sale of fresh King crab legs, it struck me that I had everything I needed to make myself a dish of Lazy Woman’s Sushi for dinner. Let the rejoicing begin! A handful of legs later (and a ginormous bill for many other items, aka the dreaded Costco syndrome) I scampered home and started the sushi rice.

INVISIBLE_TEXT

At the farmers market a few weeks ago I found some local short grained rice and actually remembered where in my pantry it had been residing. It makes the most tender and almost creamy sushi rice, and is also superb in a rice pudding, but I digress, stopped daydreaming and popped a cup of it to boil. I pulled out of the pantry some nori sheets and toasted sesame seeds from the nearby Japanese grocery store. I also had ¾ of a monster avocado from my salad last night. I love it when I have all the ingredients for a wonderful dinner mostly from the pantry. During these economically challenging times it is especially nice to know that with a little creativity and a fresh ingredient or two to supplement the contents of my ample pantry I can have a unique and delicious dinner in the time it takes to cook rice. I love it when a plan comes together.

mis en place collage

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

When the rice was done I added a mixture of rice vinegar, sugar and salt, mixed it well and spread it in my fancy plate to cool. The plate is a tart plate from a wonderful trip to Mendocino years ago, made by a local artist, it has a scene of the foggy hills, sand dunes and redwood trees all suggested by clever glazing. Of course you don’t get to see the beauty of her art until you finish eating everything in the pan. This gives new meaning to the clean plate club, no?

New Message

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

I let the rice cool and began to shell the crab. That took a bit of doing and I must say as delicious as King crab is, I really much prefer our local Dungeness. The King crab is very moist, very salty but in a pleasant way, and very HUGE! I have enough leftover for a crab sandwich or something tomorrow.

INVISIBLE_TEXT

[No pictures because I didn’t want my fabulous camera – aka my cell phone – to smell like crab… ewww…]

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Costco had pouches of tiny cucumbers so I used my Kyocera mandoline and zipped one into tiny thin slices (that took about two seconds) and I layered the slices on the cooled rice.

INVISIBLE_TEXT

cucumbers collage

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Next I added the avocado and a sprinkling of sesame seeds.

INVISIBLE_TEXT

New Message

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Finally, I added the crab, and dinner was done! You can customize this any way you choose, if you prefer smoked salmon that would be wonderful, or sushi grade ahi. Or, if you like vegan sushi, cooked shitakes, seaweed salad or a veggie of your choice would be delicious. But I am a crabby kind of gal, especially King crab today. (No, I’m not really feeling crabby, well maybe just a little, hmmm, well you understand.)

INVISIBLE_TEXT

King Crab Lazy Woman Sushi
$

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

I grabbed the nori and a cold beer and sat down for my sushi feast. This dish actually serves two amply and I have lots leftover for tomorrow. To eat, spoon up a bit of the rice and toppings and place it on the nori sheet and roll it up into a cone, and munch.

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Lazy Woman’s California Roll Sushi

INVISIBLE_TEXT

Layer 1

Freshly cooked short grain rice (I used one cup of raw rice)

Sushi Vinegar – stir together and nuke for a minute to melt the sugar:

1/8 c rice vinegar

1 T sugar

1 t salt

INVISIBLE_TEXT

Pour the sushi vinegar over the hot rice, and stir until the liquid evaporates a little, and rice becomes shiny and sticky.

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Layer 2

1 cucumber, thinly sliced

1 avocado, thinly sliced

Nori goma furikake (optional)

2 t roasted sesame seeds

INVISIBLE_TEXT

Sprinkle rice with furikaki, then top with cucumber and avocado, arranged attractively. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Layer 3

INVISIBLE_TEXT

3 King Crab legs

Tobiko (optional – flying fish roe, my favorite!)

INVISIBLE_TEXT

Top everything with crab, and tobiko if using

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

1 package of nori sheets

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Spoon sushi mixture onto nori sheets and dip in soy or ponzu, and enjoy!

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Here is a link to the original recipe, which uses a sweet sauce that I personally don’t think the dish requires.

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT

Some dinners one feels almost virtuous in eating, and this is one!

INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT
INVISIBLE_TEXT


Leave a Reply

