Happiness is…

…a lovely breakfast with the doggies…

Whole wheat English muffin, chevre, rosemary ham, poachies, heirloom tomatoes, and espresso!

Served up with a strong dose of Poiriot!

2 responses to “Happiness is…

  1. Hi Heather,
    I’m fascinated by the fluffiness in those poached eggs. When I drop eggs into a boiling pan, the egg whites tend to spread. I’d appreciate any insights to get eggs like those. Thank you in advance!

  2. Hi Linda,

    I love poached eggs, and I have 2 suggestions. First, the eggs have to be really fresh. I often get mine from the farmer’s market. The local egg guy told me that pullet’s eggs poach up the best. My other suggestion is to bring the water to a boil, lower the heat to medium and add 1/4 c. vinegar. This slows the boil and the acid helps the white firm up. Then they should barely simmer for 4 min or until you like them done, I like ’em at about 5 min for an x-large egg.

    But just today, I ended up making egg soup, the eggs I bought at the grocery store and the whites just floated away, despite the vinegar. Save your current batch of eggs for hard boiled, in fact HB eggs need to be older otherwise they don’t peel nicely.

    Good luck, do tell me how it goes!

Leave a Reply

