Sometimes I Don’t Know What Gets Into Me….

You know by now that I have an obsession with chicken. (See here.  And here.)   Now this obsession is heading to a new level of wackiness.

I have decided to enter Twisted Oak Wineries “Culinary Cluck” contest.

An excerpt from the announcement of the contest:

culinary cluck

…………………………
CULINARY CLUCK!

CULINARY CLUCK is a recipe and wine pairing competition with a Twist. As well you might expect!
An entry to CULINARY CLUCK includes a recipe, a Twisted Oak suggested wine pairing, and a picture of the finished product.

Your recipe must either
a. be a recipe that contains (real) chicken; or,
b. be a recipe that looks like a (rubber) chicken when prepared.

Your wine pairing suggestion must be for a Twisted Oak wine from any vintage.

And by “picture” we mean any visual presentation: a single photo, a drawing or painting, a slide show, an album, or a video. (You can have a soundtrack but it isn’t required.)

……………………

My comment:

pastry chicken

(Picture courtesy of El Jefe website)

How anyone can top that pastry rubber chicken, I dunno, but I’ve got my thinking cap on!!!!
Posted by: Heather in SF | September 18, 2009 at 09:14 PM

I have faith that you will come up with something!
Posted by: El Jefe | September 21, 2009 at 12:46 PM

How can I let El Jefe down?

How can I top that pastry chicken??

Stay tuned….

5 responses to “Sometimes I Don’t Know What Gets Into Me….

  1. Oh my, such a cool contest! Looking forward to hearing about the recipe you create!

    I just discovered your blog via Beach Eats, and I’m so glad I did! 🙂

  2. What do you know, I’m obsessed with chicken too! Those around me swear its all I ever eat … though that’s not exactly true.

    What a fun contest, Heather, good luck! I can’t wait to read about your entry.

  3. I am avoiding chicken for a while, ish. But that’s me. I hope you make some kick ass chicken and win this thing!

  4. I know I can hardly wait!

    Astra, Diva, and laura – you can certainly enter too! The winning entry need not be the most spectacular – just the most creative.

    And laura – there is a rule that says the result can look like a rubber chicken but not BE chicken. I know of at least one tofu entry in the works.

    Good luck! – j

  5. Hey Jeff, thanks for visiting my site! I hope to not let you down and come up with something fun and creative. And I’ve spread the word on my recipe swap site too so I hope you get lots of entries!

    Now, back to the drawingboard…

Leave a Reply

