Snausages

It’s the day before a holiday, Easter for my family, and I am up at my parents enjoying the peace and tranquility of the country and all of its relative benefits:  fresh air, birdsong, no sirens, great company and chats, and best of all amazing meals.

Since tomorrow’s a big day in the kitchen, we decided to take it easy today and have a very simple dinner.  The menu was my idea, based upon a favorite dish from my dear step-sister U___’s mom M___.

Years ago when U___ was in a play, M___ and I spent a great time chatting during the intervals about cookery.  M___ is authentically Scottish, born across the pond and a true lady.  I quizzed her in great deal about Scottish cuisine, having not had a lot of exposure to it over here besides what my family cooks as part of its standard repertoire.  She rattled off a handful of familiar dishes, and we scooted out to the parking lot to the car where, stashed in the trunk, was a tin of her shortbread.  Guiltily we snarfed finger after finger of shortbread whilst keeping an eye on the wristwatch; it wouldn’t do to be late for her daughter’s play!   Later, she brought up a dish I had never heard of, sausage rolls.  She told me they were her favorite snack for a heavy tea or a light supper or lunch.

Ever since that day, eons ago, I have been making sausage rolls for myself but apparently never mentioned them to any member of my immediate family!  Quelle horror!   Tonight I rectificed this shortcoming and made them for my parents. It was a perfect quick and easy dinner, and left the kitchen clean for other pursuits tomorrow.

dinner 2
(hmmm, apparently, butter on the camera lense produces a blurry photo, who *knew*? sorry…)

Snausage Rolls

1 # sausages – I used Lockeford apple sausages, 2 are almost a pound
1 package prepared croissant or bread dough
Spicy brown mustard
black pepper

Preheat oven to 375 F.

In a small skillet, place sausages and 1/3 c water and cover, bring to a boil and cook 7 minutes.  Remove lid and then cook until water evaporates, and brown sausages well.  Remove from pan, let cook and cut each sausage into 4 pieces, then each piece in half.

sausage collage

On a work surface, unroll prepared croissant or bread dough and spread each piece of dough liberally with spicy mustard.  Top with sausage pieces, two per dough piece, and roll up, pinching with fingers along seams.  You do not need to completely seal up the dough.

Picnik collage

Place rolls on a lined baking tray and grind black pepper on top of each roll. Bake 11-20 minutes until rolls are golden brown and dough is cooked through on the bottom.

Picnik collage

This is all that was left after dinner:
all that is left after dinner!

I made a quick spinach salad with red onion, cucumbers, tomatoes and mushrooms with a blue cheese dressing, and steamed some broccoli and dressed that with olive oil and a seasoning mix from Penzey’s called Brady Street Cheese Sprinkle.

We watched a salmon hued sunset while dining on our sausage rolls and toasted M___ with some local Black Sheep Sauvignon Blanc.  This winery is a true treasure and the fruity and dry notes of the wine really hit the spot after the sweet apple and porky notes of the sausage and the tang of the mustard.

Replete and happy, we all retired to our various pursuits and later I served up some chocolate mousse from Julia Child’s classic recipe, decorated in anticipation of Easter with some pastel M&M’s.

Tomorrow is a busy day, our menu is:

  • Ginger Carrot Soup
  • Baked Ham with Raspberry Bourbon Glaze
  • Gratineed Potatoes Savoyard
  • Steamed Asparagus
  • Pull-Apart Butter Buns
  • Chocolate Mousse
  • Rosenbaum Cellars Richard Sauret 2006 Zinfandel

I hope you have a wonderful Sunday, whether it is your Easter or not, and enjoy some snausage rolls of your own sometime.


Just for fun, why I call these “snausages”!

3 responses to “Snausages

  1. Looks so easy and delicious! I will have to try for dinner next week, if I can haul myself to the store…

  2. Puff Pastry is all I gotta say!! try it, you’ll love me but your hips may never forgive!

    • Oh yes, puff pastry is divine, isn’t it? Alas, up here in the country the stores don’t seem to stock such an exotic item. So, croissant dough was our only alternative. I do want to make my own croissant dough from Paula Peck’s book, green chile croissants…. drool drool.

Leave a Reply

