Breakfast Confessions

I have a few confessions when it comes to breakfast on the weekends.

  • I always like to eat breakfast in my pajamas…. (and no cameras are allowed for that!)
  • I like to listen to reggae in the morning.  This album was recommended by a cab driver; Damian Marley, Halfway Tree.

I always listen to reggae at breakfast.

  • My favorite way to make coffee is in the Moka pot. It makes one and a half cups, which is just perfect for me.

My favorite way to make coffee is in the Moka pot.

  • If I don’t want coffee I will make myself a pot of tea using my breakfast set.  Yorkshire tips is my favorite in the morning, hot and sweet.

Being home on a Monday is fantastic

  • I like eating breakfast alone, because I can have five pieces of bacon and no one will judge me. Or, try to steal a piece. Yup, that is all for me.

A bit of heaven

  • I like to eat with an audience.

I like to eat with an audience.
(“Everyone in here is staring at me….”

  • I hate jars on my table. These pretty vintage pressed glass jam pots make me very happy. I think the jam tastes better too.

I hate jars on my table; these make me happy to use.

  • Breakfast is always better with a little Hatch green chile. Except maybe pancakes. But then again, I haven’t tried that yet, hmmm.

Breakfast is always better with a little Hatch green chile.

  • Coffee tastes better in a hand-thrown cup and saucer. This pair is from an amazing potter in Sedona, Mary Margaret. I have been collecting her pieces for 15 years.  Not only does it taste better but it stays warm longer, which is a huge plus in foggy San Francisco!

Coffee tastes better from a hand-thrown cup and saucer.

  • I like agave or honey in my coffee.
  • I like protein for breakfast, it always makes me feel better. Poachies are my favorite, but I like the yolk cooked until it is almost jelled through. But I must have a piece of toast under my egg.

Beauty shot

  • For scrambled eggs, I always spoon the eggs on top of the toast and take a bite.  This seems to perplex my family and friends and I have no idea how this started.  I suppose Emily Post would not approve, hence why I like to eat breakfast alone!
  • I always save a piece or half a piece of toast to eat with jam. It’s my breakfast dessert!

I like to save a piece of toast for a spoonful of jam.

  • Local eggs always taste better.

2 green eggs! 2
(especially the green ones)

  • It is a cook’s privilege to lick clean the jam spoon. Mmmm, homemade blueberry from Sue B!

It is a cook's privilege to lick clean the jam spoon.

  • After 11 years he is still hopeful for a handout. Or to be pet. I am never sure.

After 11 years he is still hopeful for a handout.

  • I hate sitting at table with dirty dishes in front of me, even if there is bacon left.  The bonus to this is that my breakfast dishes are always done immediately.

I have sitting at table with dirty dishes in front of me, even if there

  • The post-breakfast nap is the best….  See you later!

What are your breakfast confessions?

7 responses to “Breakfast Confessions

  1. What a beautiful table you set. Love all the hens. Would love to remove all the jars from my table but have a some what clumsy husband who would do a job on anything ceramic over time. I also need protein at breakfast. Great looking meal!

  2. Thank you Marilyn! I know what you mean about clumsy guys. All of my little pots are post-Ex 🙂

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Breakfast Confessions « Heather in SF -- Topsy.com

  4. Hey,
    Breakfast looks delicious. I love listening to reggae in the morning. Couple more recommendations in case you’re interested:
    Ini Kamoze – “Debut”
    Wailers – Catch a fire
    Midnite – Unpolished

    thebreakfastzone.wordpress.com

    • Hey Pecos, thanks for the reggae recommendations! And I love it that you have a blog devoted to breakfast!! Breakfast totally rules…

  5. Jam on toast is a delight that always, always, always takes me back to eating at my grandparents house when I was 5 years old. The smell, the texture, the taste…

    Just thinking about it is transformational.

    I think I’m going to make breakfast for dinner!
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

