Dinner Dilemma or CSA Delivery Day

Today my produce CSA was delivered and I always look forward to it. But today an odd thing happened, I do not have a clue of what to do with it.

It is a beautiful selection, Spring brings such variety and flavor. Thank goodness Spring is here at last.

20110511-115620.jpg

Everything is in amazing condition.

20110511-115739.jpg
(strawberries)

20110511-115808.jpg
(broccoli and cilantro)

20110511-115850.jpg
(green bell peppers, so fresh the flower is still attached)

20110511-115925.jpg
(zucchini and fave beans)

20110512-120007.jpg
(Fingerling potatoes, my favorite)

20110512-120708.jpg
(a dozen baby lettuces)

The CSA included apples, oranges, grapefruit and farm eggs. Also in the fridge is green onions, a giant yellow onion, garlic and celery.

Since my fridge is super tiny I decided to peel the fave beans. The plump green pods easily release from their furry pods.

20110512-120337.jpg

The beans themselves are in a thick jacket that usually needs to be loosened from the bean by a quick turn in boiling water, then shocked in ice water and peeled. When they are this young and fresh though, the beans just pop out after a quick nick of my thumbnail.

20110512-120836.jpg
(end result, 1/2 cup of peeled fave beans)

I decided to just cut up the berries, sugar them a little, add some Grand Marnier and vanilla paste.

20110512-121049.jpg

Then, for the first time in my life, I ate an entire carton of berries, all by myself.

I know, it’s silly but I feel like fruit is a special treat and despite not being raised this way I have felt for years that it’s rare and special and therefore it’s naughty to eat a whole box of berries. Then naughty became “not”ey and then not. I’m trying to correct this wrong thinking, one carton at a time. (A big thank you to A___ for this line of thinking tonight.)

I do know I need to eat a head of these lettuces and at least one piece of fruit each day, and I have more broccoli from two weeks ago which is still in pristine shape. I’m thinking broccoli soup.

So, what do I do with everything else? My creativity is tapped out and I am uninspired. That cupboard is empty and rattling)

If you have ideas for these other vegetables please please let me know. It’s a dilemma.

Leave a Reply

