Food Allergy Update

It has been a few weeks since I have written about my new battle with food allergies.

It is a battle. Every day I eat anything I feel like I am playing Russian roulette. It is so much fun! Oh the sarcasm.

The good news is that I don’t have blood immunity-detectable allergies to anything they have tested but this means nothing.

Apparently, one can have an allergic reaction to a food and not be technically allergic. There are food allergies, food intolerances, Oral Allergy Syndrome and food sensitivities.

What does this mean for me? Nothing.

I am clueless until my next set of tests two weeks away. The nurse said that those tests may not give me any helpful information either.

For example, I have been reacting strongly to eggs, meaning anything with egg on it, including baked goods, has made me feel terrible. I am not allergic in a true sense but might have a “sensitivity”.

I’m not allergic to dairy but I have an intolerance, so eating cow’s milk products have a very decided effect.

I am not allergic to fruits or nuts according to my lab tests but I might have OAS due to cross-reactivity to certain pollens.

Today’s test was watermelon and I felt “funny” but not like I do after eating eggs or almonds. But I won’t be doing that again.

I also thought potatoes were okay because potato chips have been fine. But the other night I roasted some fingerling potatoes and felt that awful tingly itchy feeling and soreness in my mouth. Today I had some roasted potatoes “croutons” in my salad and again the same feeling came over me.

I need to try mashed potatoes because the reaction I am having could be from the potato skins.

Or, maybe I’m just screwed.

You see, mashed potatoes are my favorite comfort food. When I have a migraine and am too green to keep most foods down I can have a few bites of mashed potatoes.

Potatoes dishes loom large in my celebratory dinners too, like the infamous lobster mashed potatoes from my birthday or creamy mashed potatoes and gravy at every major holiday.

When I feel happy or sad I want mashed potatoes. I want mashed potatoes like little kids want their mommies.

I am starting to hyperventilate just thinking about this and am sending buttery offerings to the tuber gods that peeled potatoes are okay.

5 responses to “Food Allergy Update

  1. ookkk so then you oughta be SUPER skinny for the second annual road trip of happiness–we’ll plunk you in the back with some wine a 50 pounds f bacon–you’ll be happy

  2. good luck with the potatoes. its so strange how this just randomly happened.. i dont think i’m technically allergic to dairy either but i cant have a lot of ice cream or milk, not that i really have those anyway. i hope the next tests help. the egg part is tough.. i guess u can eat vegan stuff..

  3. Ha, Laura, this is so right. Thank the pork for bacon. I have been eating a lot of it and I’m hungry all the time! Oh, and bourbon and wine is okay. I am totally set.

    Merri, I have heard that one can develop allergies as one gets older (no comments please) or after a major trauma to the body like surgery, injuries or childbirth. Well, I guess this year has been a lot of major trauma (surgery and injuries, not childbirth!!)

    What was really interesting is what the doctor said about gluten and wheat. Apparently an allergy to these things is very rare but one can still have major reactions like celiac (which is not an allergy) or a sensitivity to wheat, and it’s one of the foods that has common cross-reactivity like the OAS (Oral Allergy Syndrome). This fascinates scientists, but I don’t want to be fascinating. I want to be healthy and feel well.

  4. Barbie in the mtns

    So – maybe we could try to just use the white of eggs whipped up in the pumpkin chiffon pie and see how that affects the finished product? The pumpkin pie filling used about a cup of whole milk, too. How are you doing with plain, ordinary lettuce as in salads? Salad dressings , unless homemade could be a problem, but a squeeze of lemon or dash of vinegar works. More thought is required.

    • I can try an egg white and see what happens. I will let you know! Otherwise I just won’t have any pie, that will be fine. No egg in the dressing either please. If mashed potatoes bother me then I’ll make sweet potatoes, those are okay. Salad greens seem to be okay, I think. No matter what we will have a wonderful Thanksgiving! The best part will be being together.

Leave a Reply

