Holiday Truffled Roast Duck

I succumbed to the lure of a stuffed truffled duck 4505 Meats had for sale when I visited their manufacturing kitchen last week. How could I pass this beauty up?

It was the size of a baby! It was at least 18″ long and weighted at least 8 pounds. Once I put it on my kitchen table I realized I had a problem; no roasting pan in the Roost was large enough.

photo.JPG

I had to cut off all of this to even get the duck close to fitting in my roasting pan. I saved these goodies for stock and future rendering for duck fat.

photo.JPG

After trimming off 9″ of the neck and the “collar” of fat from the neck and shoulders the duck now fit into my largest roasting pan. Barely! The directions called for a little sprinkling of salt and pepper, and I added a sprinkling of thyme for good measure.

photo.JPG

The directions were simple, I had nothing to do but have a glass of Bonny Doon Ca’ del Solo Muscat and wait, and then…. this…

photo.JPG

I let the duck rest covered lightly in foil for 30 minutes, and then got ready to carve.

photo.JPGphoto.JPG

First, I poured off the fat from the roasting pan, strained and cooled it for future wonderful uses.

photo.JPG

I used a bit of the duck fat and flour to make a roux, then added a good glass of wine and the truffled duck stock to make a pan gravy for my dinner. I now think that truffled duck stock is the best stuff on the planet, outside of roasted duck that is.

The stuffing was so aromatic with truffles and 4505 Meats’ sausages and Tartine’s olive bread.

photo.JPG

It took some wrangling but I removed the legs and thighs in once piece and both breasts, one went onto the carving board for my dinner. I immediately ate both “oysters” and hacked the carcass into smaller pieces to be frozen for soup stock – duck soup! There was a lot of meat on this bird.

photo.JPG

I carved up some of the breast meat, it was juicy and perfectly rare, and rendolent with truffle.

photo.JPG

I served up my plate and ladled some truffled gravy over the dressing and the duck. The seasoning of the meat and the stuffing was divine. I have been kicking myself for not thinking of using olive bread in poultry stuffing.  Where was my brain?  Why didn’t I think of this myself?  Ryan Farr is a genius!

Outside of carving the bird, I had very little to do. This was the most spectacular and yet the simplest thing I have ever prepared.

A note on wine, most people serve red wine with duck but I found that the fruit of the Ca’ del Solo Muscat by Bonny Doon was wonderful with the duck,  Its citrus notes and almost floral fruit cut through the richness of the duck meat and did not overpower the truffles.

photo.JPG

I shared the leftover stuffing and the rest  of the duck breast with my colleague at the office and we had the nicest Christmas Eve eve luncheon, despite the lack of wine. The duck legs and full breast were carefully frozen as I promised to share some with friends for a little dinner soon – seared duck leg and a petite salade and wine, what could be better?

If you have the chance to pick up a duck from 4505 Meats I could not recommend it highly enough.

4505 Meats
Ryan Farr, head genius
http://4505meats.com/

Roasting Directions

5 responses to “Holiday Truffled Roast Duck

  1. Barbara in the mtns

    Lord Peter Wimsay loved roast duck, but he would have gone bananas of yours! Sounds wonderful.

  2. wow, everything about that sounds fabulous!

  3. Okay. I need to find a reason to come down to SF before it’s all gone!

  4. Oh I’m so jealous! That sounds ah- mazing! At Julia’s kitchen I usually recommended Pinot noir with duck – my fav being Napa’s ZD if you can find it! 🙂

  5. This year’s duck came out fine despite a wonky oven that delayed things a bit. I do love that Napa ZD too! Thank you for the wine recommendation and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

