Chicken Mock Pot Pie

It was one of those nights. I came home from work cranky, sore, hungry, and exceedingly broke.

I surveyed the emptiness of my refrigerator and found a partial carcass of a roasted chicken from the other night and spotted a box of Bisquick stashed in the corner of the pantry. Perfect, it’ll be a mock chicken pot pie kind of night.

20130306-185434.jpg

I made myself Negroni, because of course I have all the ingredients for that, but no vegetables, for Pete’s sake I am even out of pepper. But I muster onwards, sipping a few sips of my cocktail made me feel a little better, they also accentuated the urge to have something decent and slightly hearty for dinner.

I looked in the freezer and found a little bit of frozen spinach and some frozen corn kernels and spread those in the bottom of one of my beautiful oval casseroles. I picked out most of the meat from the chicken carcass and added all of the pan juices and sauce from the chicken into the casserole. This went into the oven to get bubbly, while I pulled out that ubiquitous box of Bisquick. I measured out the mix and grated in some cheddar cheese and sprinkled in as much black pepper as I could from the tiny porcelain chicken salt-and-pepper set that I keep on my dining table. I mixed up the biscuit dough with my hands and patted it rather flat between my palms and laid it on top of the casserole filling.

My chicken mock pot pie went into my convection oven while I relaxed at the kitchen table finishing up the latest issue of Lucky Peach. The aromas of Campari, orange and gin were slowly eclipsed by the baking smells of biscuits, cheese, and chicken.

20130306-185557.jpg

This is certainly not haute cuisine but it is wonderful comfort food and I’m grateful to be able to cook a decent dinner out of my pantry. I am grateful for a pantry full of great things, including very fine gin.

Nine more days until payday!

hal’s Negroni

2 responses to “Chicken Mock Pot Pie

  1. Awesome! When I’m poor, actually even when I’m not, I put a lot less effort into my meals. Like tonite’s veggies w cheese over rice (or maybe couscous, haven’t decided), or tomorrow’s rutabaga with a side of greek yogurt with mango. Or last week’s super lazy meal when I didn’t feel well- plain brown rice LOL! You’re such a great chef.

    • I think your meals are very creative! Have you tried whole wheat couscous? It tastes so much better than the regular kind, and I love using red quinoa and farro and other grains. I plan to cook with more beans this spring and summer, it takes a little advance planning. More on that soon!

      On Wed, Apr 17, 2013 at 3:29 PM, Heather in SF

Leave a Reply

