Contemplating Eggs and The Lack Thereof

20130402-212936.jpg

Last week I ate a Sushirito, a burrito sized sushi roll, and unbeknownst to me it contained tamago, the Japanese rolled omelette. It wasn’t on the menu and I told the preparer and the cashier I was allergic to egg, but still they added it to the roll. I ate two bites and started to feel funny, within minutes I was having a severe allergic reaction.

20130402-213030.jpg

I took 2 Claritans as my immunologist instructed, then took another one. By this time my tongue was tingling and my throat felt like it was closing up to I went a block from my office to an urgent care center, they promptly sent me to the ER. The ER staff were great and gave me a whopping shot of steroids and some massive antihistamine and noted a rash developing all over my arms, chest and back, and that my throat was closing up and my tongue was swelling up. After 4 hours of medication and monitoring I was allowed to go home with a handful of prescriptions.

In the days that followed I was dealing with the “hangover” of this allergy reaction, a hugely busy workload and a severe family health emergency. The steroids I was taking prevented me from sleeping but also gave me insane energy and insomnia to deal with all of these crises.

A few days later it really hit me. It’s been two years since these weird food intolerances appeared. Technically they are not a true allergy as the blood and skin tests were negative. But there is no denying that I’m having an anaphylactic response to eggs.

20130402-213225.jpg

I had a bad night realizing all of the foods that are now shut off to me, probably forever. All of my life I have never given a thought to what I ate, except whether it tasted good or was well prepared. Now I can never relax my vigilance just in case the next allergy attack proves to be more serious. I carry an EpiPen and I read labels. When I dine out or eat prepared foods I have to place my trust and my life in the hands of others.

Did I mention that I have major control issues? I have always, in my quiet and diplomatic way, maintained an iron grip of control over my life. Now, this doesn’t help me, matters are out of my hands. It’s terrifying and frustrating.

So, in an effort to help me get over these feelings of sadness I need to get it off my chest. I’m pissed I can’t eat quiche, poached eggs, hollendaise, Green Goddess dressing, salad Niçoise, Caesar salad, waffles, soufflés, meringues, dacquois and Pavlovas, macarons and deviled eggs. No matzo balls, fresh pasta, donuts, cookies, lemon curd, freaking lemon meringue pie, tuna salad sandwiches, aioli and frittatas, pot au cream, custard, my Granny’s tapioca pudding recipe, BLTs with a thick smear of mayonnaise and creme brûlée. I’m going to miss the Creme Brûlée Guy. A lot.

20130402-213833.jpg

Fuck you, eggs, I hate you.

I don’t like how sick I get after eating eggs now. It’s super scary. I need to avoid them diligently just in case this intolerance gets more sensitive and the reaction gets more severe. This is a true threat. So why do I miss these things? It’s in my head, a sort of denial. I need to get over it and move on.

But for today I am angry and bitter.

Fucking eggs. Fucking beautiful eggs.

20130402-213347.jpg

3 responses to “Contemplating Eggs and The Lack Thereof

  1. I’m so sorry you have to deal with this. Hopefully, the future will hold answers. Hugs, Nan

  2. It def can be scary eating out not knowing if when your server tells you there’s no this or that in the dish, that there really isn’t. and if there isn’t that they wont sprinkle that thing on as garnish, or sit it next to something that has it, just for fun. Or, maybe they don’t understand English well and are just agreeing with what you say. I’m def lucky though, to only be allergic to nuts and not eggs, since your allergies are way more prevalent. I think some of the things you listed you can find a way to make without using eggs (tuna salad, for sure…use greek yogurt, tastes way better than mayo!) but I get your meaning. 😦

    • It’s true, you really have to ask a lot of questions, and when I do, with a smile, and say, “Do you mind checking? I really don’t want to go to the ER tonight.” most everyone has been really helpful. I get to see a dietitian soon, that will be great, it will help with my meal planning.

      On Wed, Apr 17, 2013 at 3:19 PM, Heather in SF

Leave a Reply

