Decadent Pleasures: Fried Chicken (Part 1)

Fried chicken has long been a decadent pleasure of mine and apparently it’s a family tradition as well. I came across photographs of my grandparents and great grandparents and a gagillion of great aunts and uncles and assorted family picnicking the backyard eating fried chicken and mashed potatoes. They did this a lot.

With this genetic predisposition I’ve always made excellent fried chicken using a variety of methods, American, Japanese, Chinese, Spanish, and even a Turkish version, albeit not authentic, but always delicious.

Last night I went out to dinner at Miss Ollie’s in historic downtown Oakland with some dear friends to try out their fried chicken and rum cocktails.

20130417-134037.jpg

Fried chicken and rum punch is almost as heavenly as fried chicken and rosé Champagne.

The amazing Miss Ollie’s uses some sort of magical chopped parsley, onion, and perhaps lemon mixture and stuffs it under the skin before she batters and fries her chicken. Holy cow was that good!

20130417-134142.jpg

At lunch today while I was nibbling on the amazing leftover chicken wings and some her delicious fried Kale with shredded cabbage and carrot pickle I had sort of a brainstorm. I was trying to think of what is in this concoction of Miss Ollie’s, and then my mind wandered over to Margaret Fox’s recipe from Cafe Beaujolais of gooped potatoes. Potato goop is a delicious mixture of garlic and herbs, parsley and olive oil that she tosses with cubed potatoes and then roasts in the oven until everything is crunchy and succulent and heady with aromatic herbs.

Would it be completely outrageous of me to use a similar type mixture stuffed under the skin of my fried chicken?

I thought of how fond I am of brining the chicken first using a brine similar to what Ad Hoc does but using buttermilk.

That’s when it hit me. I don’t really have any plans this weekend. I’m going to make fried chicken in a decadent way.

20130417-134259.jpg

You can almost see the gears turning…

2 responses to “Decadent Pleasures: Fried Chicken (Part 1)

  1. an old roomie used to make super yummy fried chicken for us in his fryolator. with mashed potatoes he made w sugar and mayo mixed in, which sounds gross but was super yummy. i’ve only had one fried chicken better than his, and that was another friend’s mom. moms always cook the best! my mom’s never even tried it…frying things scares her cuz the oil bubbles up & burns…and i agree w her too lol.

    • I haven’t heard of a fryolator in years, those are awesome! I rarely fry at home because there is no ventilation by my stove and somehow all the cooking smells end up in my closet. It’s weird, I can’t figure out why that happens as they are not close to each other! But once in a while, I will fry chicken or soft shelled crabs or onion rings, such decadent pleasures!

      On Wed, Apr 17, 2013 at 3:12 PM, Heather in SF

Leave a Reply

