Morocco In My Kitchen: Lamb Tagine

Fickle Spring is here, some days it feels like pure summer, some days it feels like the wind has icy teeth. With the fog bank lurking out of sight behind the horizon despite the mild days as soon as the sun sets it is chilly and I have been indulging myself with rich flavors that are yet lean in calories. My latest kitchen gadget, the beautiful tagine from one of my bosses, fit the bill perfectly for the night I decided to make a Moroccan lamb tagine.

The recipe is inspired by a fellow cook on a Facebook recipe swap forum. Debbie Maizel used apricots and nuts in her dish, which I omitted for annoying allergy reasons, but I used what I had in my kitchen and it was quite versatile. As I am trying to be budget conscious and use what is in my pantry and freezer, such as this generous lamb chop from 4505 Meat’s monthly butcher bag, I like recipes that are more method than a strict requirement of ingredients.

What made this tagine special is the spicing of the meat. Exotic and yet familiar, the use of ras al hanout and harissa gave the dish great flavor and some spiciness and elevated the lean lamb to a richness that made a small portion feel quite grand. In hindsight I will leave out the chile as the harissa was spicy enough for my wimpy tolerance.

20130413-115141.jpg

Lamb Tagine
1 lamb shoulder chop, bone in, ~ 1.5 pounds
2 T olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1″ piece of ginger, peeled and chopped
3 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 preserved lemon, pulp removed, rind chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 pound of carrots, cut into small pieces
1/2 a cauliflower, cut into small pieces
1 cup frozen petite peas
3 T ras al hanout*
1 tsp Harissa paste*
1 Seranno chile, seeded and minced (this chile was in the jar with the preserved lemons and was moderately spicy with a nice vinegar kick)
1 tsp turmeric powder
Salt
1 3/4 cups of beef broth
1/4 c dry white wine
1/4 c chopped parsley

cooked couscous, tossed with chopped green onion

* I obtained these spices from a new organic spice store in San Francisco, Spicely.

In the base of my tagine I heated the olive oil and while it was heating, I generously seasoned the lamb chop with salt and pepper and then browned it to a dark golden brown on all sides of the chop. I set the chop aside and added the onion, garlic and ginger to the tagine and stirred the fragrant mixture over medium heat until the onion was soft and tender. Then, I added the spice mixtures, the preserved lemon, bell pepper, chile pepper, and the vegetables and cooked this for 5-8 minutes. Then, I added in the broth and the white wine and stirred to loosen the browned bits on the bottom of the tagine, tasted for salt and then snuggled in the browned lamb chop into the mixture. On went the tagine lid and I turned down the heat to low and simmered it for 45 minutes, then turned the lamb and simmered for another 40 minutes until the lamb was tender and falling off the bone. About 10 minutes before the end I strewed over the top of the stew a few handfuls of frozen peas that I had thawed in a strainer in the sink.

Again I was out of parsley, but I did have a bit of cilantro that was about to go off, so I added a few leaves of what was viable to the stew.

I scooped out a cup of cooked couscous and ladled on a good dollop of stew, and sat down at my little table to watch the sunset and savor spoonfuls of this rich and spicy stew. I sipped red wine until the light grew purple and felt quite content with life.
Urban heure de violette

 

(printer-friendly recipe)

8 responses to “Morocco In My Kitchen: Lamb Tagine

  1. That looks utterly mouth watering and I love the story of how you created it. I received a tagine for my birthday last week and although I’ve cooked tagine dishes in a regular pan I’m looking forward to using it for the first time this weekend. Your recipe has given me inspiration!

    • Thank you Bill, I hope you give your tagine a test drive soon! It sure is fun to use and is remarkably efficient.

      • I’ve ordered a Moroccan and a Lebanese cookery books through Amazon which I hope will arrive before the weekend and if they do it’s all systems Tagine!

      • How exciting! I would love to know which books you ordered. I purchased two myself, Morro by Sam and Sam Clark, and Arabesque by Claudia Ronin, upon the advice of my Twitter legion. They are wonderful, I have so many recipes I would like to try.

      • I have Arabesque and have already made some of the recipes from it – I love Claudia Roden’s books I also have her Food Of Spain book which is excellent. The books I’ve ordered are The Food Of Morocco by Paula Wolfert and The Lebanese Kitchen by Salma Hage. I checked them both out in a local book shop first but I ordered them on-line because I had some Amazon gift vouchers to redeem.

  2. ooh there you go with that tagine! it looks so delicious. I picked up preserved lemon at the fatted calf recently with tagine in mind, but have been lazy… your post inspires me, I love harissa!

  3. i’ve seen that spice store on my way to the gym, but I’ve not been in. i tend to use the same couple of spices over and over, but i guess at some point i should expand my taste. I’d never even heard of that first one you got from there before!

    • You might want to wander in there, the prices are really reasonable for organic spices and you can mix and match whatever you want. I bought some I had never heard of before, which was great fun, and also got things I really like, like cumin and saffron.

      On Mon, May 20, 2013 at 5:15 PM, Heather in SF

Leave a Reply

